The Thing – first trailer

The Thing 2011

I’ll admit I was pretty snippy about The Thing remake when I first heard about it. I didn’t see the point of remaking, was worried it would be… well a bit of hack job if I’m honest. But then as I started to read more – that it was more a prequel than a remake, that it would focus on the Norwegian team mentioned at the start of John Carpenter’s movie, I started to relax a little. Indeed I have it on my list of films to look out for this year.

Now the first trailer has been released and… well… it looks a lot like Carpenter’s flick to be honest. But that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Even if it fits the Joe Bob Briggs adage of “if you’re going to make a sequel, make the exact same movie” well, turns out I’m ok with that too.

With this being director Matthijs van Heijningen Jr.’s first feature I have no idea whether it will retain all the fun and scares of the 1982 flick. But, trailer looks promising wouldn’t you say?

~ by moviegrrlreviews on July 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
