Final Destination 5 – First trailer

Final Destination 5

I have pretty much nothing but love for the Final Destination franchise. It meets a couple of essential Joe Bob Briggs requirements for horror movies

– Anyone can die at any time
– If you’re going to make a sequel, make the exact same damn movie

And New Line have suceeded not only in doing this, but in making a set of exciting, thrilling horror films that sometimes can take your breath away with their set pieces.

The good news with this trailer and the PR that surrounds it, is it looks like the ridiculous idea of calling it 5nal Destination has been kicked to the kerb. Just as well really. It made no sense and looked like pron movie. Good call. More good news, Tony Todd is still around to point out that “you’re all going to die in ridiculous and terrifying ways, sorry”.

The bad news? Well the opening sequence in the trailer is enough to give anyone the heebie jeebies, but “the rules have changed”? Er. NO. Exact same movie every time please. (I may be being churlish on this point, but honestly I think most cinemagoers recognise this is a pretty formulaic movie, I don’t think it bothers them).

The other thing I’m not 100% sure about is the great disaster. Yes, it’s a bridge collapsing, but with all the traffic it feels a little too like the disaster in Final Destination 2. I know, I know I just said make the exact same movie. Ok I’ll admit I’m conflicted. Maybe the franchise has outstayed it’s welcome, but horror films are one of the few examples of 3D movies that I enjoy so I want this to carry on being the fun romp of teen death that the others have been.

Final Destination 5 opens in the UK on August 26th

~ by moviegrrlreviews on May 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
