RIP Elisabeth Sladen

Liz Sladen

When Lis Sladen announced she was leaving Doctor Who, I cut out the report from my mother’s newspaper and kept it in my money box. It seemed like the end of the world that my companion would no longer be alongside the Doctor.

Although I did watch Pertwee Who, it was Tom Baker who was My Doctor and it with him the effervescent and feisty Smith. “There is nothing “only” about being a girl” she once said, and damn if I didn’t love her for those words.

Sladen was in some of my absolute favourite episodes, Planet of the Spiders, The Android Invasion and of course, the mighty Pyramids of Mars. She was absolutely everything I ever wanted to be when I grew up. When she returned to new Who in “School Reunion” she was still absolutely the person I wanted to me. I had grown older, but Sladen it seemed had waited for me to catch up with her. I can’t quite believe she was 63.

The Sarah Jane Adventures was some of the best children’s TV I’ve seen in years. Smith still iconic, still saving the world, still taking no nonsense from anyone.

Her death yesterday from cancer comes too soon, not just for her and her family but for a generation of Whovians still grieving over the loss of Nicholas Courtney a few months ago. My thoughts, and those of several generations are with her family today.

Edited to add: Den of Geek makes a brilliant suggestion in their obit for Lis, please consider donating to local charities in Lis’ name as tribute.

Elisabeth Sladen – 1 February 1948 – 19 April 2011

~ by moviegrrlreviews on April 20, 2011.

One Response to “RIP Elisabeth Sladen”

  1. I found the terrible news from your site this morning, it was a real shock to me. This is a lovely tribute

Leave a Reply

 
