Latest News on The Crow reboot

The Crow

Last month I threw my toys out of the pram over news about the Stephen Norrington helmed reboot of The Crow.

What irritated me most were the seemingly inane burblings of of producer Ed Pressman who chuntered on with phrases like “The Crow itself is a creature in this movie — it’s not just a bird. It’s got a personality and a character. Not like Godzilla exactly, but it’s very different [and has] a more active role in the story”.

*headdesk*

Now it seems that however fabulous Pressman thought the script was, it wasn’t fabulous enough because, according to an exclusive from The Wrap, Nick Cave has signed on to rewrite the script.

*cue mouth agape*

I’m a huge fan of Cave, and adored his first penned movie The Proposition, which I found beautiful and riveting. It’s clear Cave has an amazing ear for dialogue, and I can imagine his will be a deft hand.

And yet… this worries me. I’m not sure I trust either Pressman or Norrington not to eff it up. I’m also not convinced that Cave will write the kind of script to capture the hearts and minds of the Twi-hard audience that I suspect the production company will be hoping for. It could be absolutely immense, or could be tinkered and played around with until nothing of Cave remains.

Perhaps I’m being too cynical. For the moment, let’s file this in “cautious optimism”, at least until the cast is announced…

~ by moviegrrlreviews on July 27, 2010.

One Response to “Latest News on The Crow reboot”

  1. […] Excuse me, while I get my froth on about The Crow reboot again. […]

Leave a Reply

 
