Splatterhouse – Spilling Blood Walkthrough from E3

Splatterhouse original

Back in the days when I didn’t actually have a games console of my own and lived in a humpty bedsit in Liverpool, I would occasionally treat myself to renting a Sega Megadrive and game for an evening from my local Blockbuster. My favourite rental was always Splatterhouse, which I just adored. So an updated version of Splatterhouse fills me with a certain amount of glee.

The story is a retelling of the original game, but with much more actual plot. Dr. West, a character mentioned in the original game, is now the teacher of Rick and Jennifer. West becomes the antagonist and sends monsters (Known as the “Corrupted”) to kidnap Jennifer and fatally wound Rick, who finds the “Mayan Terror” Mask and wears it. Rick will travel to various places such as corrupt carnival and a graveyard, with the West Mansion acting as a hubworld.

As far as gameplay goes, the more blood you spill, the stronger you get, allowing you greater abilities and strength. Ok so it’s not reinventing the wheel, but if the combat is as fluid as for say Batman:Arkham Asylum, then I can see this being great fun to play.
Splatterhouse is due out this autumn on Playstation 3 and Xbox360, and is now on my “must buy” list.

Thanks to Game Trailers for posting the footage.

~ by moviegrrlreviews on June 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
